Dr. Eric Morris (Ermo)

Voted the 2008 Coach of the Year by his peers, the highest honor in NDT coaching. Debated at SMS from 1986-1990, reaching the final round of CEDA Nationals. Has also coached at Kansas, Kansas State (with the national championship teams of the early 1990s), and Missouri Southern. Noted for a variety of oddities, not unlike this sentence. He would be happy to talk to you about debating for our program, etc., if you email to, or locate him on Facebook, aim (ermocito), or gmail chat (

Dr. Heather Walters

Elected as the NDT representative to the Topic Committee in 2009. Heather was an excellent debater for Missouri State from 1992-1996, reaching the Sweet Sixteen at CEDA in 1995. After a brief foray into a legal degree (from U. Maryland), she decided that debate is more interesting than legal practice. She worked as a G.T.A. (1998-2000), and then became Assistant Coach in 2000. She served as the interim director in 2002-2003, and currently directs the high school program at Greenwood Lab School on the MSU campus. You won't find a harder working coach in any program. You can interrogate her at

Joel Reed

Joel debated at Missouri State as an undergrad and is now pursuing an MA in Communication. In 2012 he and debate partner Jeff Bess became the first third team in program history to qualify for the National Debate Tournament. He qualified for the CEDA elimination rounds in 2011 & 2012. He is always willing to discuss the intricacies of rule-based utilitarianism or Missouri State parking regulations. Send him an email at:

Corey Stone 

Corey debated as a Hawkeye at the University of Iowa. He is a 2nd year graduate student at Missouri State University. Email him at:

Wes Rumbaugh

Wes is a loyal Royals fan from Oak Park high school. His last name has become a verb, although his work ethic and strategic skill set promise to rehabilitate the verb. He was selected for the fellows program at the Arizona Debate Institute in 2011 & 2012. Wes qualified for the elimination rounds at the National Debate Tournament in 2011 & 2012. In 2013 and 2014, he qualified again while debating with Jeff Bess. In 2014-2015, he is in Missouri State's Graduate Program in Defense & Strategic Studies (Fairfax, VA).

Other recent coaches

Former debaters Sheena Walters, Jessica Johnson, Jarid Kinder, and Randy McCoy occasionally travel with the Missouri State team. Recent coach Michael Wayne Kearney is now in the PhD program at the University of Kansas. Other recent GTA's now coaching as faculty for other programs include Louie Petit (University of North Texas), Martin Osborn (University of North Texas), Justin Stanley (Johnson County Community College), and Dr. Kelly Winfrey (Kansas State University). Recent GTA Doowon Chung is now pursuing a Juris Doctorate from the University of Minnesota School of Law. Dr. Ben "Jumpshot" Warner is now an Assistant Professor at the University of Missouri and Spencer Harris is a Visiting Professor of Communication at Missouri State.